Lavender Scented Water

Do you remember an old post I wrote about my love of ironing? Call me crazy, I still love to iron. It is so satisfying to me and I especially love the beautiful feeling of sleeping on freshly ironed pillowcases. Certainly it must have come via a pleasant memory from my childhood and just carried forward throughout my life.

A while back, I bought a bottle of lavender water at Home Depot that I thought would be lovely. It was on a marked-down table so I picked it up to give it a try. It came in a spritzer bottle, and I used it to add a nice fresh scent when ironing my pillowcases. When that bottle was gone, I never found it again so thought I would try to make my own. After researching the internet, and a bit of experimenting, this is my E-Z “solution.”

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 bottle distilled water
Essential lavender oil
Fresh lavender sprigs, optional
Spray bottle, any size

Pour water into a bottle.
Add 5 drops essential oil to every 5 oz of water.

NOTE: If you are very, very patient, steep the water two weeks before using it to bring out the most fragrant scent. If you’re like me and can’t wait, just spritz everything from Day One. Anything you spray will impart a calming scent and freshen the house. (Add a few drops of the essential oil in your bath water, on bed linens and lingerie. Some even use it in cooking.)

Depending on the size of your bottle, the lavender water will run you less than $5.00 for this wonderful experience. Or, if money is no object, you can buy a 3.4oz bottle from Crabtree & Evelyn for about $25.00!

If you are unfamiliar with buying essential oils, here’s a Tutorial to make sure you choose the right type and quality to get the best job done.

You can buy Lavender Essential Oil from Amazon.com if you don’t have a good source in your area. That link has a really good sale currently, but there are others as well.

“The air was fragrant with a thousand trodden aromatic
herbs, with fields of lavender, and with the brightest
roses blushing in tufts all over the meadows . . .”
~ William Cullen Bryant

One response to this post.

  1. My mother used to iron sheets and pillowcases. You are the only person – besides her- that I know of that does this anymore. And, you are right, there is definitely a feel to anything freshly ironed. Love the idea of the scent also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

