My Pearly Whites


Yesterday I went to the dentist for the first time in three years. Shame on me, I know that, but I have had neither the insurance nor the finances to get a thorough check-up and cleaning prior to then.

And, even though I take really good care of my teeth (in my opinion), I actually was a bit worried about what they might say because it had been that many years.

(The teeth above are not mine, but I can wish!)


The dental hygienist ran down this list of questions first:

1. Do you smoke or have you ever smoked? NO, NEVER
2. Do you drink alchohol, especially red wine? NO, NEVER
3. How much soda pop do you drink daily? ZERO, NONE
4. How many cups of coffee do you drink a day? ZERO, NONE
5. How often do you brush your teeth per day? TWICE
6. Does anyone in your family wear dentures? NO, NO ONE

ALL GOOD SO FAR, RIGHT?
Well, things are about to change!

7. Do you floss your teeth daily? RARELY


ANALYSIS:

1. No cavities whatsoever. HOORAY
2. Beautiful teeth (#2 on the color chart). THANK YOU
3. Good family genetics. THANKFUL
4. Gums need some improvement that comes with flossing. I’LL DO IT
5. Come back for a follow-up in six months. CHECK
5. Buy a SoniCare toothbrush. A-OK

At 66, I think it’s time I got with the flossing program!
I have many years ahead when these chompers will be needed.

One response to this post.

  1. Hey, Lauralee, very very impressive check up. I HATE going to the dentist, but I try to go once a year. Allen went for a routine checkup and came out owing eight hundred bucks…it’s no wonder he doesn’t want to go very often (and he takes very good care of his teeth!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

