Almond Bundt Cake

My friends, Craig and Pam, returned last Fall from a Study-Abroad project in China that took them right through the summer months. He is a Visiting Professor of Art, Printmaking and Drawing at Pacific Lutheran University and she is a Social Worker with the State of Washington. Together they had this amazing opportunity come knocking at their door and they grabbed it.

The closest I ever came to China proper was when I was in Hong Kong (before the takeover) and on a little side trip I put my toe on China soil. That hardly counts as a real visit.

This Sunday they have invited six of us to have dinner with them and afterwards view a slide show of their adventures. I have been asked to bring a dessert and have decided that I will take this lovely Almond Bundt Cake. It is delicious, so I figured I would post it here for you to also enjoy making for an upcoming special event. I also believe it will suit the Chinese theme of the dinner.

ALMOND BUNDT CAKE

“A delicious cake using ground almonds,
sliced almonds and almond extract.”

Ingredients
• 1 cup butter, softened
• 2 cups white sugar
• 4 eggs
• 1-1/2 teaspoons almond extract
• 1-2/3 teaspoons vanilla extract
• 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 1/2 cup ground almonds
• 1 cup milk

Glaze
• 1/4 cup milk
• 3/4 cup white sugar
• 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
• 1/2 cup toasted sliced almonds

Method
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan.
2. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and ground almonds. Set aside.
3. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and 2 cups sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the 1-1/2 teaspoons almond extract and vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with 1 cup milk, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pan.
4. Bake in the preheated oven for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes and invert on a wire rack. Cool 10 minutes longer. Place rack on waxed paper.
5. To Make the Glaze: Combine 1/4 cup milk, 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and toasted sliced almonds; pour over warm cake.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Two things: the cake looks delicious. Your friends will most certainly enjoy that better than anything else being offered at this event. And, secondly, do you really mean a SLIDE SHOW, or do you mean a powerpoint presentation, or the pictures being shown on the computer or tv. Because I didn’t know anyone did slide shows any more…the trays, the projector, the screen, I thought that had all gone by the wayside.

    Reply

  2. I won’t know for sure until I get there on Sunday, however they said “slide show” when they invited me. Perhaps that is the name they give to all presentations, no matter what media method is used. I’ll let you know more after the fact.

    Reply

  3. Ok, so the recipe looks totally divine! I am just not sure if by ground almonds I would need to buy them that way, or I just take a handful of almonds and pulse them in my food processor or blender? I want to know because I am soooooo going to make this!

    Reply

  4. Grind away Heather, make sure you use blanched almonds or take off the almond husks because they are ugly. Hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

  5. Thanks Auntie, you’re a gem!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

