George Carlin Is Dead

George Carlin
Sunday June 22, 2008
Died of heart failure at 71.

In 1961 and I was working at McNeill’s Drug Store in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. George Carlin was the “new act” appearing at The 4th Dimension Coffee House in our city. Coincidentially, I had gone to see his show the night before (which had not been a hit). The next morning he walked into the drug store and, of course, I struck up a conversation. I asked him if he wanted to know why his act had tanked the night before. He did.

I explained to George that all his jokes were based around spoofing USA TV commericals, however this was Canada. In those days we didn’t get the USA TV channels as much, and if we did they had Canadian commericals sponsoring them. So the popular USA commericals were unfamiliar to most Canadians.

George was flabbergasted because he thought they were one in the same for both sides of the border. He thanked me, bought his items, and disappeared out of my life forever. I was thrilled that I had somehow been responsible for the success of his show for rest of the week!

In this routine GC describes most everyone in my family. “That’s all you need in life, a little place for your stuff. That’s all your house is: a place to keep your stuff. If you didn’t have so much stuff, you wouldn’t need a house. A house is just a pile of stuff with a cover on it. That’s what your house is, it’s a place to keep your stuff while you go out and get more stuff. Sometimes you gotta move, gotta get a bigger house. Why? No room for your stuff anymore. You’ve gotta move all your stuff, and maybe put some of your stuff in storage. Imagine that there’s a whole industry based on keeping an eye on your stuff.” Did you read that Pappy?

In one of his most famous routines, Carlin railed against euphemisms he said have become so widespread that no one can simply “die.”

“‘Older’ sounds a little better than ‘old,’ doesn’t it?,” he said. “Sounds like it might even last a little longer. I’m getting old. And it’s OK. Because thanks to our fear of death in this country I won’t have to die – I’ll ‘pass away.’ Or I’ll ‘expire,’ like a magazine subscription. If it happens in the hospital they’ll call it a ‘terminal episode.’ The insurance company will refer to it as ‘negative patient care outcome.’ And if it’s the result of malpractice they’ll say it was a ‘therapeutic misadventure.'”

~ Rest In Peace ~

One response to this post.

  1. I just read about his death, and I had no idea about this story of yours, wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

