A Package Tale

box-streetfighter3.jpg

November 26th, 2007
eBay auction ended. Payment was promptly sent from the buyer via PayPal for this rare set.

SEE THE FULL AUCTION HERE!

November 30th, 2007
Item was shipped from Olympia to Australia by Priority International Mail w/ USPS Delivery Confirmation & Insurance for $200. (Thank goodness!) Arrival is estimated to be between 6 and 10 days.

December 12th, 2007
Delivery was attempted at the buyer’s home in Australia. No one was at home to receive the package so a notice was left and the package was returned to the Post Office to await pick-up.

December 20th, 2007
Buyer e-mails me to say that he has either been to or contacted all Post Offices within a 50 mile radius looking for his package, all to no avail. Even with the customs declaration form #, no one at that end of the world has seen or knows anything about the package. We mutually decide to wait until after the New Year to see if it has perhaps been held up in the holiday rush.

January 4th, 2008
I called the USPS 800# to file a ‘lost package’ claim for the insurance. I’m told that it will take 24 business days to send me the paperwork, then I need to fill out and return immediately to put the file in place for receipt of the insurance.

January 31st, 2008
No sign of the claim forms arriving. I make an inquiry again at the 800# only to be told their computers are down so they can’t look up the claim # to see where the paperwork is. Call back again later.

February 6th, 2008
I check the Track and Confirm site online for any update and the message reads:
“Your item is being processed by customs in CANADA. Information, if available, is updated every evening. Please check again later.” Huh?

February 9th, 2008
After 2+ months, the package has returned to my Post Office box in Olympia. The Post Office clerk tells me that he will need $42.20 to resend it to Australia. I firmly protest! (Yes, JMS, it’s Lauralee demanding excellent customer service!) The clerk has me fill out more paperwork. He takes out his penknife and removes off all the stickers and labels from its travels through Australia and Canada. He then resends the package back to Australia. NO CHARGE!

February 10th, 2008
I write to Ben C., the customer in Australia, telling him to alert both his mail carrier and Post Office that the package is coming back.

Whew, I’m sure glad I used PRIORITY mail – no telling where it might be if I had used any other method!

Stay Tuned For Safe Arrival Information.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thematsonroundup on Tuesday, February 12, 2008 at 6:57 am

    What a total and complete nightmare!!! Glad that you at least got it back and were able to resend ‘free’!

    Reply

  2. That’s crazy! Glad it got back to you in one piece though, I have had one or two packages arrive all torn up and in pretty bad shape.

    Reply

  3. Is that for the video game street fighter? I love that game.

    What a mess. I am so glad you stood firm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

