Called to Serve

superiorcourt3.jpg

For the first time in my life, my number came up for Jury Duty. I need to be available from January 21st through the 25th. I have been called to Thurston County Superior Court to serve my civic duty for one or more criminal trials during the week, depending on the length of the trial.

Today was the first assignment and about 100 people arrived at 8:00am as potential jurors. It was all so very interesting. Beginning with the Bailiff and Jury Administrator, who were both so kind and made sure we were comfortable and in the right place. They then gave us our juror numbers and some introductory instructions. Once the initial orientation was complete, our group was divided from the original bunch and taken into our courtroom. There were 40 people in our particular group, of all ages and from all walks of life.

We then were interviewed both ‘en masse’ and individually by the Judge, State Prosecutor, and the Defendant’s Counsel. (The defendant sat in the courtroom during all these preliminary goings on. Couldn’t have been easy for him.) There were two full series of questions from each side and took about 1-1/2 hours. We were then whittled down to 13 after the end of questioning.

The two specific questions I was asked were:
1. Why would you not want to be the defendant?
2. Do you believe that people stereotype others because of their manner of dress, hygiene or overall appearance?

Our case involved a young 20ish hispanic man who had seven counts of absolutely terrible firearms charges against him. I won’t go into details, but trust that there were some very frightened people on the other end of those guns. (His old Granny was sitting in the back of the courtroom! So incredibly sad.) The trial is expected to take three days plus the time for jury deliberation.

Thankfully, I was NOT chosen as a juror to participate in this trial.
We were paid $10.00 + mileage for our day’s service.

I now need to telephone in each night after 6:00pm, for the court recording, to determine if I am needed to serve again on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday.

. . . Stay Tuned . . .

UPDATE: I’m all finished with my jury duty. That was easy!

3 responses to this post.

  1. sounds unfun… I dont want to be called to jury duty…unless its like jury duty with pauly shore…buddy!

    Reply

  2. I got a jury duty notice once but we moved to Logan and I was too far away to go.

    Reply

  3. I got a notice once, but for some reason I never went. I think I was having a baby or something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

