My Fish Story!

While I was at the Deseret Industries (thrift shop) in Logan UT, shopping around for bargains to potentially resell on eBay, I came across this piece.

It has a beautiful frame, done professionally, and with multiple matting. The picture features two gorgeous trout, painted in watercolors, marked and numbered by the artist. (Even better looking than my picture.)

trout-framed2.jpg

The size of the overall picture is 14.5″ x 15.5″ and it is in pristine shape. What a find for $1.50! I quickly put it in my cart.

Now that I am home, I researched the internet looking for the name of the artist to get more information about this piece. Nothing came up that seemed exactly right. Then I turned to eBay and searched for “trout,” “watercolor,” “fish painting,” just any word that might yield some clue as to the origins of this beautiful work.

Imagine my shock and surprise when I found the artist himself . . . selling on eBay!

Here is the link to artist Tom Sasser’s auction!

Tom Sasser hasn’t been listing on eBay very long as he only has 11 feedback, so my timing was just right. I actually wrote to ask him more about the two paintings, but haven’t heard back yet. Tom indicates that his artwork is carried at “The Orvis Fly Fishing Galleries” throughout the United States, of which there is one in Logan!

I am getting ready to list my artwork gem for sale on eBay, just in time for the Christmas sales, and can’t wait to see what my $1.50 beauty brings.

Does anyone know what kind of trout these are?
I’ll bet J. Michelle will know. Fill me in!

Alternate titles for this blog: “These fish don’t stink!” ~ “Do fish lay ‘golden’ eggs?” ~ “One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish!” ~ “Reelin’ in treasures at the D.I.” ~ “Win some, win some more!”

4 responses to this post.

  1. You really do have an eye for great finds!
    I am anxious to see what it brings also. Will you share the info? Please, I am nosey aren’t I. You just gotta share a great deal.

    Reply

  2. Posted by J.Michelle Swope on Thursday, August 23, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Hi! Looks like the bottom one is what they call a Dolly Varden, or Bull trout, and the upper one, my best guess is a Red-side, which is a large Rainbow related trout.

    It is a lovely picture!

    Reply

  3. Thanks JMS, I knew you would know about the trout varieties.
    You can all be sure that I will post the final results once it is sold.
    (Still haven’t heard back from the artist.) Stay tuned.

    Reply

  4. I love an awesome bargain, especially an awesome DI find! I really do love that place, it’s so fun! I can’t wait to see how it does on ebay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

