Do You Freecycle ?

freecycle.jpg

http://www.freecycle.org

The purpose of FREECYCLE is to keep items out of the landfill. The goal of the network is to reduce waste by connecting individuals, who are throwing away goods, with others who are seeking them. Whether you are looking to acquire something, or declutter and get rid of things, this is the place to come! The only thing asked is that all offers are free, legal, and appropriate.

Freecycle is open to all who want to “recycle” that special something rather than throw it away. Whether it’s a chair, fax machine, a piano needing repair or an old door, feel free to post it. Or maybe you’re looking to acquire something for yourself, a friend, a family member, or a group, etc.

junk.jpg

Here’s how it works . . .
First, you need to sign up with a Yahoo! e-mail address.
Then, go to http://www.freecycle.org and find the location where you live.
Sign up for a membership at that location. No charge.

FOR INSTANCE:
LOGAN AREA: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Utah-IdahoFreecycle/
THURSTON COUNTY: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/freecycleolympia/
LETHBRIDGE: http://ca.groups.yahoo.com/group/freecyclelethbridge/

And finally, post an advertisement and wait for the e-mail responses.

You can place either an OFFER or a WANT.
It’s best to post an OFFER before a WANT, if possible.
(Be a giver, not just a taker!)

AN EXAMPLE:
OFFER: Older Comfy Footstool (Olympia WA)
TAKEN: Older Comfy Footstool (Posted by person offering.)

WANTED: Clean Footstool for Retired Woman (Olympia WA)
RECEIVED: Excellent Footstool (Posted by the person asking.)

ADMIN: Used by moderators to give you new information.

Yes, I know that the D. I. is a good source for giving away your discards, however they don’t help you FIND things that you might need. This is a good source of hard-to-find items on a one-to-one personal level. A good alternative that benefits both sides. So, give Freecycle a try, you’ll be glad you did.

Especially at my favorite price:
$ $ F R E E $ $

Alternate titles for this post: “Who could use these extra rhubarb plants?” ~ “I wish I could find a new HP #23 printer cartridge.” ~ “I wonder if anyone has a good source for firewood.”

4 responses to this post.

  1. Love it Love it Love it. I got our toddler bed, our bunk beds, a stand up freezer, a couch, love seat and chair set. etc etc on freecycle. I think it’s just great and I’ve found some really great homes for things that I no longer have use for. Great blog. I think that freecycle is so great too!

    Reply

  2. I have never tried it but it sounds great!

    Reply

  3. Banna hepped me to Freecycle when I was up for Thanksgiving. I haven’t actually gotten anything yet, but I check it out pretty often. It’s such a fun.

    Reply

  4. This is the first time I have heard of freecycle. Thanks for the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

