My Crockpot = Heaven

My days are so full of activities I have turned to my trusty crockpot to ensure a proper meal for myself.  Only me to cook for, so it would be real tempting to snack or make quickie fixie meals.  When the boys were all home I used my crockpot all the time, now I make up the recipes and then freeze the individual dinners and I am always set with good, nutritious food.  

aromacrockpot.jpg

I just bought myself a new AROMA 8 quart crockpot, which is also a roaster oven, with a large range of temperature control.  Depending on what I am making, there is room for all the ingredients, whether large or small. 

slowcookerliner2.jpg

Also, I cannot live without the Reynolds SlowCooker Liners.  They make cleanup a breeze.  Like the commerical sez:  “Cook it slow.  Clean it fast.”  Just my speed.

Today I am making one of my favorite crockpot recipes, “Bachelor’s Stew” which I found years ago on http://www.allrecipes.com. My moderations are below.  Give it a try. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

BACHELOR’S STEW

2 pounds lean stew beef, cut into 1 inch cubes
1/3 cup dried bread crumbs
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. black pepper
1 onion, cut into chunks
3 carrots, thickly sliced
6 (or more) small white potatoes, cut into quarters
4 stalks celery, thickly sliced
1 tsp. dried basil
1/3 cup quick cooking tapioca
1 can of sliced mushrooms (optional)
1 tsp. soy sauce
2 cans condensed tomato soup
1 cup beef broth

Combine bread crumbs with salt and pepper and toss with beef. Place coated beef cubes into the crockpot and add all the remaining ingredients. Stir well.

Cover and cook:  LOW for 10 to 12 hours  -or-  HIGH for 3 to 5 hours

NOTE: Check the liquid toward the end of the cooking to make sure it is not too thick. Thin with more beef broth if needed for better consistency. 

3 responses to this post.

  1. I LOVE the crock pot liners! If I am planning on using my crock pot and I discover I a have run outof liners then I usually make something else. I’m Liner Lazy.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nainy & Grandpa Hans on Friday, April 6, 2007 at 12:39 am

    Hey!! We also love crockpot liners but alas….in Sweden there are no crockpots! We will try this delish sounding recipe on our woodstove. So fun!

    Reply

  3. I too love my crockpot liners, and I can’t live without them! And I love cooking with my crock pot for the same reasons, a hot meal cooked for me through the day, and I can just serve it up and not stress about it! Love it! I will be trying this recipe this week! Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

